For more details as to why certain people or organizations won awards, you may want to see if they are listed on this page.

Distinguished Africanist Award: Awarded to an academic by the NYASA Executive Board for outstnding contributions to the field of Africana Studies in New York.
Year Awardee
1991 Chinua Achebe
1994 Ali Mazrui
1996 Ngugi Wa Thiongo
1997 Iris Berger
1998 Elliott P. Skinner
1999 Wilbert LeMelle and Ibrahima Fall
2000 Molefi Kete Asante
2001 Maulana Karenga
2002 Marta Moreno Vega
2003 Joseph E. Harris
2004 Vincent B.Thompson
2005 Mamood Mandani
2006 Richard Hull
2007 Micere Mugu
2008 Joseph Eyitemi Inkori
2009 James Turner & Milton C. Sernett

Tukumbi Lumumba-Kasongo & N'dri Assie-Lumumba

2011 Gwendolyn Mikell
2012 Muno Ndulo
2013d> Locksley Edmondson
2014d> Oyeronke Oyewumi

Distinguished Teacher Award: Awarded by the NYASA Local Conference Committee to an outstanding K-12 teacher from the region of the conference site.
Year Awardee
1991 Barbara Glover
1992 Robert Carroll
1996 Laurie Midgette
1997 Harry Thornhill
1998 Mwalimu Fuillamne Yoboue
1999 Ron Ahart, Robin Proud and Rose Middleton
2000 James Miller
2001 Howard Eagle
2003 Abraham Lee and Denise Dendtler Lee
2004 Yvonne Griffen
2005 Tiffany Patterson and David Cingranelli
2008 Millicent Clarke-Maynard and Oscar Saulsberry
2009 Johnny J. Williams

Jane Stuart-Andrus

2011 Kenneth Sider
2012 Sylvia Nyana Owiny

NYASA Service Award: Awarded by the NYASA Executive Board (with input from the Local Conference Committee) to an outstanding organization or person from the region of the conference site.
Year Awardee
1987 WESPAC (Westchester Political Action Committee)
1993 ASAPHA (American South African People's Friendship Association)
1995 African American Institute and Doctors Without Borders
1996 Trickle Up Program
1998 Africa World Press and Samite
2001 Catholic Diocese of Rochester
2003 Daisy M. Halstead-Rowe, Retired Admin. Asst, Cornell Africana Studies & Research Center
2004 Benjamin Foster Jr & Floyd Bagwell,Eastern Connecticut State University Staff
2005 Afro American Historical Association of the Niagara Frontier
2006 TransArt
2007 NCUGRHA (North Country Underground Railroad History Association)
2008 Village at Ithaca
2009 African Students Union, The Dunbar Center, and the Faith Hope Community Center
2011 Oneonta NAACP
2012 Coraminta Mahr
2013 Anukware S. Adzima & Brenda Brown
2014 Central New York Region NYCLU of the American Civil Liberties Union

About Links
Book Awards

Conference History


Past Executive